Home   •  Print this Page   •  
Samsung BD-P3600 Review
Blu-ray Player, $399
RedLine

Samsung BD-P3600

Dick De Jong
July 22, 2009
HDTV Solutions


Introduction

Samsung has introduced three new Blu-ray players, the BD-P1600, BD-P3600 and the BD-P4600. All of them, even the $299 BD-P1600, are Profile 2.0 BD-Live players, and each includes Netflix (movie) and Pandora (music) streaming capabilities.

The BD-P3600 stands out from its two siblings because it supplies 7.1 analog audio outputs which are essential for home theater enthusiasts with non-HDMI equipped receivers. Perhaps surprisingly, the ultramodern designed and more expensive ($499) BD-P4600 only furnishes stereo analog audio outs.

Since I'm a Netflix subscriber, I think that Samsung's partnership with Netflix is a real plus for these Blu-ray players. But if your TV viewing room is not wired for the Internet, the big bonus is that all three of these units provide wireless connectivity. Samsung even packages a wireless adapter with the BD-P3600 and 4600.

Of course, the foundation for any Blu-ray player is high quality audio and video performance and the BD-P3600 does not disappoint.

Blu-ray Player Primer

Blu-ray disc players were introduced in 2006. Since then, their specifications have evolved through three classifications, (Profile 1.0, 1.1 and 2.0).

Profile 1.0 provided playback and basic interactive features. Profile 1.1, (also called BonusView), players added the capability for displaying Picture-in-Picture (PIP) and playing secondary audio tracks available on BonusView discs.

BD-Live Logo

After October 31, 2007, all new Blu-ray players had to offer all the features in Profile 1.1.

BD-Live (Profile 2.0) players must have an Ethernet port for connecting to the Internet, where it can download online content associated with BD-Live Blu-ray titles.



Out of the Box

From a distance, the BD-P3600 with its glossy black finish looks nondescript. Upon closer inspection, you see that the designers have sculpted the unit with curved edges and a top that slants down to a slightly smaller base.

Samsung BD-P3600

The biggest departure from standard DVD players is the placement of the operational buttons on the top instead of on the front face.

Samsung BD-P3600

Even though I almost always use the remote, I like the convenience of the buttons on the top. They especially come in handy when I am loading a DVD. Of course, to take advantage of this location you need to place the player on the top of your stack of equipment.

Also, if you look closely, a flip down door (labeled Open) on the front right corner conceals a USB port.

On the back, the connection panel supplies one HDMI out and one set of Component Video (YPbPr) outs. A Composite out (with a pair of Audio stereo outs) is also included. Though practically, you should only use the Composite as an option of last resort for troubleshooting.

On the audio side, in addition to the stereo outputs, the BD-P3600 provides those 7.1 channel analog outs along with an optical Digital Audio out. When you add in the HDMI cable, you have four ways of relaying the audio signal.

Samsung BD-P3600

The BD-P3600 internally decodes advanced audio formats including Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution and DTS-HD Master Audio.

The BD-P3600 supplies two USB ports, one on the front and one on the back. Both will accept flash drives, though not simultaneously. You can playback JPEG photos, MP3 audio files or DivX video clips on the drives. (Please note that whether from a flash drive, a CD or a streaming PC, DivX is the only video file format supported by the BD-P3600.)

Either USB port can serve as a Service port for firmware updates. (The BD-P3600 also can download updates directly from the Internet.) If you are accessing BD Live features on a Blu-ray disc which may require additional storage, you can attach a flash drive to either port.

The 802.11 wireless adapter can only be plugged into the USB port on the back. When attached, the adapter sticks out a little over two inches. If you are placing the BD-P3600 in tight quarters, Samsung includes a handy little USB L connector, which will allow you to hug the adapter along the back of the deck. Or if you are old school, you can simply plug a network cable into the LAN port.

Samsung BD-P3600

In previous reviews, I have discussed the sense of empowerment that Netflix streaming gives. The notion that one has over 11,000 movies at your fingertips can make even a grizzled cineaste weep.

For the music maven, Samsung has linked up with Pandora, a free streaming Internet radio service. After activating your BD-P3600 on the Pandora website, you create your own stations by supplying favorite artists, songs or composers.

For example, Pandora designed a Rufus Wainwright station for me. Rather than playing Rufus 24/7, Pandora, (based on its Music Genome Project database), selects a range of compatible songs by various artists.

If you are planning on using both the Netflix and Pandora streaming features, then make sure that your Internet Service Provider is supplying you ample bandwidth, with download speeds of at least 2.5 Mbps. Over 5 Mbps would be better if you want high quality streaming from Netflix.

Samsung BD-P3600 Remote

Samsung makes remote controls that fit comfortably in your hand, which might seem like a small detail but it shows a sensitivity to you, the consumer. The glossy black remote is non-backlit, but after being exposed to sunlight, the basic control keys in the middle glow green in the dark.

I wish that I could access some of the player's menu items while watching a DVD, but you must stop the DVD before you can open the menu for the BD-P3600.

Because this Samsung is feature-rich, the menu is not as uncomplicated as I would prefer. You often have to punch a number of buttons to reach your destination in the sub-menus. Then again, if I have to choose, I'll take the features even if it means more navigation through the menus.

Power Consumption

The EPA is now publishing a list of ENERGY STAR qualified TVs. (You can find it here.) But the EPA is still in the midst of setting testing procedures for the Version 2.0 ENERGY STAR Audio/Video Specification, which includes devices like Blu-ray players and AV receivers.

It will probably take another few months before the EPA will begin to generate a list of ENERGY STAR qualified Blu-ray players, therefore, we ran our own set of power consumption readings.

To measure power, we hooked the BD-P3600 up to our watt meter, called Watts up? Pro, and took a reading during playback of a Blu-ray movie and another in standby mode.

During playback, the meter ranged between 21.9 and 22.4W. If I stopped playing but still had the disc in, the meter hovers around 18W.

When I turned the power off, the meter plummeted to 0 and didn't budge. I'm glad to see that this new Samsung model exhibited this zero or near zero standby mode. The earlier BD-P1600 didn't drop so low in standby and also took more power during playback.

I know Samsung has made great strides in reducing power consumption in their new HDTVs. It's gratifying that they are also greening their Blu-ray players.

Setup

The more Blu-ray players that I review, the more I realize how young this technology is. Let's just say they haven't hit puberty yet. And like any growing child, they are constantly outgrowing their clothes. In Blu-ray terms, that means the need for seemingly constant firmware updates.

I would suggest the first thing you do after connecting any new Blu-ray player to your TV is check to see if your player has a firmware update that you can download from the manufacturer's website.

With this Samsung, you have three options. Download the file to your computer and then copy it to a flash drive which you can insert in one of the USB ports on the BD-P3600. Or you can burn the file to a CD, which you insert into the player. Or you can hook the player directly to the Internet and download the firmware update straight into the unit.

Samsung BD-P3600

If you decide to connect the BD-P3600 to the Internet, you will need to setup the Network feature. If you have any network experience, the process is fairly straightforward. As a reminder, you will need an Internet connection to take advantage of BD-Live content available through a Blu-ray DVD.

Now, there is a second networking function that I particularly like, the ability to connect the BD-P3600 into your home network. Then you can access JPEG photos, MP3 music and DivX video directly from a shared folder on your computer.

Samsung BD-P3600

The catch is that setting up this link can be a little tricky. As a Samsung representative said, "there are thousands, if not tens of thousands of different PC configurations - not to mention the countless different routers, network types, and service providers."

Luckily, I received some assistance from the rep and I was successful in linking the BD-P3600 to my computer. I will not try to explain the process in this review. You can email me and I will share the details.

After dealing with network connections, the rest of setup is a piece of cake. You can work your way through the sub-menus quickly and easily. If you have questions, the manual is informative and helpful.

To use Netflix or Pandora, you will need to go onto your computer and register your BD-P3600 on both the Pandora and Netflix sites. Netflix is a paid monthly subscription. Pandora is free.

For the videophiles in the crowd, Samsung does not furnish any picture controls on the BD-P3600. I am seeing some other top end Blu-ray players that offer an extensive list of picture adjustments. If you have a high quality HDTV with multiple HDMI inputs, I don't believe you'll feel deprived by this Samsung's lack of tweaking tools.

Performance

I'm running out of ways of expressing how good playback of Blu-ray discs looks and sounds. The performance of the BD-P3600 simply adds to the list of superlatives. Picture quality is crystalline and audio is as good as your sound system.

The BD-P3600's upconversion of standard definition DVDs will make you glad that you didn't dispose of all those old DVDs in a garage sale. But I'll continue to repeat, "there is a noticeable difference between SD and Blu-ray DVDs."

With that said, I am not an unswerving fan of Blu-ray technology. On every player that I have encountered, I have run across at least one glitch in playback of Blu-ray discs.

For example, I just received a copy of the Director's Cut of the Watchmen. It contains a feature called Maximum Movie Mode. Some of the Blu-ray players that I have in for review (including this Samsung) hiccup when I try to access this content. Others don't.

Samsung BD-P3600

Then again when I try to tap into the BD-Live content through the Transformers disc, the BD-P3600 acts like a champ. While those that handled Watchmen turn into chumps with Transformers. Curiouser and curiouser. I can only imagine that these compatibility issues make tech support personnel invoke the sacred and profane in their restless nights.

With its ability to decode advanced formats including Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution, and DTS-HD Master Audio, the BD-P3600 is pumping high octane audio fuel. If your sound system is an old clunker, it will run better, but don't expect to set any land speed records. For those home theater speed racers who gotta Bugatti, fuhgeddaboudit.

Value

As I scan the online retailers today, I see that the street price of the BD-P3600 is still the same as the MSRP. I consider the wireless connectivity and the Netflix and Pandora streaming are bonuses, but my recession era parsimony wishes the price of this high-end machine would lose some altitude.

Samsung BD-P3600

Indeed, if you don't need 5.1 or 7.1 analog audio outputs, you can attain all of the other features in the $300 Samsung BD-P1600. (The 1600 is wireless but does not come with the adapter. It also doesn't support DivX video.)

Conclusion

With 7.1 analog audio outputs and superior picture quality, the Samsung BD-P3600 Blu-ray player is a great choice for a home theater with a non-HDMI equipped receiver. With the added capability to wirelessly connect to the Internet and your home network, this player can become a vital cog in a home media system.

Bookmark:   del.icio.us     Reddit     Google

Reader Comments

Posted Mar 16, 2014 3:15:50 AM

By Dan Huff

Great article but I have the same problem thousands of others have in the at I have a Comcast Gateway Modem (new from Comcast) and it will connect to the network but not the Internet. On my old modem (from Comcast too) it connected fine. My BueRay player is model BD-F5900. I have spent one hour on phone with Samsung and 2 hours on phone with Comcast. Comcast will not send a rep out to hook up the Blue Ray player to make it work! I am being sent a disk to update software from Samsung. I hope this helps but I doubt it. It appears this problem has been going on for YEARS...why can't the manufactures fix this for us old people who have a shorter life span.

Posted Feb 11, 2012 8:59:07 PM

By John

Forget it folks. It just doesn't work with wifi. We spend 5 hours working on it with router manufacturer, Samsung and cox Internet. Bottom line, Samsung equipment is incompatible with wifi set up. Just doesn't work.

Posted Jan 26, 2012 7:44:33 PM

By Gary Loggains

Hello, same issue with Netflix - was working fine for almost 2 years and now the big netlfix splash screen that it cannot connect but it connects fine with Sony Media player in another room. Thanks for any help provided!

Posted Jan 16, 2012 8:57:45 PM

By amanda

when i select access point, it doesnt do anything. ive tried resetting it 4 times...im going out of my mind

Posted Nov 20, 2011 11:11:20 PM

By john

Hello, I just tried to connect to connect to the internet and am not getting past the gateway ping as so many others. I am trying the hardwired version, would you please email me the document the other posts refer to.

Thank You

shadow69_6@yahoo.com

Posted Oct 4, 2011 9:46:09 AM

By Alan Dismuke

I have the same persistent issue as many others. Cannot get past the gateway ping on my network. I opted to hook it up as a wired network with cat 5 cables from my Comcast modem/cable box to the Samsung BD P3600. All the connections are run through a 5 port 10/100 ethernet switch box. Everything works perfectly up until the gateway ping where it fails. Can you send me any possible solution? Thank you!

Posted Jun 19, 2011 12:28:16 PM

By Optoma HD20 Best Price

I bought the BD P3600 Samsung Blue Ray player already, it is very good player it worth. and i use it with my Optoma HD20, I get it best price from here [url=http://optomahd20bestprice.blogspot.com/]Optoma HD20 Best Price[/url]

Posted Jun 19, 2011 12:22:44 PM

By Optoma HD20 Best Price

I bought the BD P3600 Samsung Blue Ray player already, it is very good player it worth. and i use it with my Optoma HD20, I get it best price from here <a href="http://optomahd20bestprice.blogspot.com/">Optoma HD20 Best Price</a>

Posted Mar 5, 2011 5:29:02 PM

By Cynthia

I have a BD P3600. It was set up and working perfectly until we moved and had to change cable company and buy a new router. Now it cannot find the ehternet connection. My previous router is still litsted as the wirless connection and I can't change or delete it so that I can input the new router which is a CISCO. This wireless router works on all my other equipment. Can you provide directions on how to change the router information on the Blue Ray?

Posted Feb 14, 2011 11:07:18 AM

By Brian

I have the BD P3600. The Blu Ray sees my laptop via my wireless Network.Problem is it asks for a username and password before I can access my files.I set this laptop up with no password and only 2 accts, mine and admin. I am unable to get past this prompt. I even went ahead and created a new user account and created a password, still cant get past the login prompt. Is there any way around this? Is it asking for the Windows username and password?

Posted Feb 3, 2011 10:42:50 PM

By aVol2 Help

So I have had my Samsung BluRay hooked up with the plug in WiFi connector for about a year... then about 2 months ago something went wrong and we had to rename our router and change the password.... not problem only a PS3, 3 laptops, a couple ereaders and 2 iphones to set up... not a problem, but OHHH I forgot about the blue ray, went to watch Netflix NOPE.. so I have tried to enter the NEW Router name and password about a billion times. All the other settings are the same... HELP... its see my router, it just wont connect.... (I have tried unplugging it and still nothing... HELP PLEASE

Posted Feb 1, 2011 12:28:08 PM

By Morgan

I have a samsung bd-p1600 and just bought a wireless lan adapter model wis09abgn. I am able to log in to my network and when i do the network connection test, it passes the first three steps and fails on internet service test. i spoke with customer service from samsung, comcast, netgear (router) and best buy. no one seems to be able to tell me how to get past the last step and get an internet connection. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Please email me any info.

Posted Jan 25, 2011 8:05:56 PM

By Liesel Ray

I am trying to connect a BD-C6500 to my airport express. When I first tried it last night, it at least connected to the network, however, it then failed the network test at the IP address line. I've now got the IP address, etc. correct, but it will not connect to my network now. It shows our network in the list and it will not connect when I type in the passcode. I've tried changing my passcode from a 10 digit to a 13 digit because I read that could be an issue. I've also set the settings in airport utility to allow the network to be extended. Any help would be much appreciated, I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure this out! My e-mail is jandlray@yahoo.com

Posted Jan 23, 2011 5:27:17 PM

By Luke D.

I can't find a search list to see how many bars I'm getting. My laptop and cel phone are getting full bars and I'm in a little condo, so I don't think the router is to far of a reach. Here is what I do... I click SETUP-NETWORK-WIRELESS NETWORK- I make sure the DHCP is ON and DNS is set to AUTO. When I click Access Point, A message instantly appears and says... "! Cannot Find Access Point"

The router I'm using is a Linksys with a model number of... WRT120N

Thanks for your quick response and your time.

Posted Jan 23, 2011 3:45:19 PM

By moodiahmed

cannot find access point ? thats a new one ! i guess this indicates the range of the connection is a bit poor. Do u get the access point in the search list or nothing at all ? If yes, how many coverage bars do u have there? whats the model of the LAN Adapter your using? Try moving the units closer

Posted Jan 22, 2011 8:26:16 PM

By Luke D.

'm having some of the same problems as a few of the folks above. When I click on Access Point, it says "Cannot Find Access Point." -- What am I supposed to do? It's making me crazy! I have the Samsung BD-P1600

Thank You!

Posted Jan 22, 2011 3:59:24 PM

By moodiahmed

I'm on of Samsung tech guys serving UK.

Let me help you with the gateway pings.

1. If wireless (not built in), LAN Adapters must be Samsung ones. 2. a. goto menu, setup, network type wireless, then network setup, set the internet configuration protocol to AUTO and select your wireless network, enter the password (Case sensitive, use the red A button to toggle between capital letters, small letters and special characters. (TV Case) 2. b. goto settings, Network, Network type wireless, network settings, Internet configuration protocol is set to AUTO, select your wireless network, enter the password (Case sensitive) (Bluray Case).

Some of you will get error message some others will get through. Just notify me with the errors you will get and tell me the model of your LAN adapters.

Posted Jan 19, 2011 5:48:46 PM

By Mary Lynn

I connected my BD-P3600 to my home WiFi network and am trying to view Netflix on it. I tried so many different settings in Samsung's Network SetUp that I don't even remember what I did any more. BUT I finally made it to the Netflix "are you a member?" window (I am) and no further. There's no activation code and Samsung & Netflix sites were no help. Maybe one of my settings was wrong?

I'm running OSX 10.5.8 so I don't know if your tips on setting up Netflix & Blu-ray up will help me, but if you could email it I'd appreciate it greatly! ML

Posted Jan 11, 2011 7:59:01 AM

By Dennis Miller

Hi I can not up my samsung bd p3600 wired or wireless fails gateway test could you send me a fix thanks

Posted Jan 11, 2011 6:39:24 AM

By allen

I have a samsung bd-5500 and am failing to get an ip in the test unless I manually configure it than it fails the gateway ping test. I have a 40 to 50 foot ethernet cable connecting it to my router. The cable length shouldnt be an issue, as there it is widely known cat5 can run 100 meters. However I am finding the length to be directly related to my problem, just not sure why? My pc gets a connection through the cable no problem, yet the player will not. Now to make it just a bit more interesting I pluged the cable directly into the modem and put the router at the end ot the long cable and what do you know the router could not connect over the length of just 40 feet. I have searched all over the net with absolutly zero luck in finding some answers. Heck I dont even think I have found any one else with the problem as related to cable length being an issue. How could the cable length be the issue as the pc hooks up but not the player? but the router doesn't like beingon the far end of the cable either. I tested it with 3 different routers all different brands same result from all of them. I would be interested in knowing the cable lengths of the others who are having the same connection issues. Oh yea the player is good I connect it to the network with a 6 foot cable on a portable tv beside my modem and router just so I would know it was not the player. Please Help, I am running out of hair to pull out!

Posted Jan 2, 2011 11:54:54 AM

By Bruce Bingham

Please email me the info on connecting to a wireless network. Thanks a bunch!

Posted Dec 28, 2010 5:37:55 PM

By bryan

For Christmas I bought the Samsung BD C6900 blu-ray player and have a cable modem, surfboard SB5101 by Motorola. Cox Cable is my internet provider. I have manually set the network settings, and with the ethernet cable connected all test passed except the gateway ping test. With Samsung tech support on the phone, I re-powered both the modem and blu-ray unit, and ended up with the same gateway ping failure. Does anyone have any possible solutions?

Posted Dec 23, 2010 6:43:42 PM

By MaryAnn

Did you ever answer any of the writers asking for the instructions on connecting their home network to their blu-rays? Sounds as if you should post it here on your site! It's soooo frustrating.

I'm in Canada, I get Youtube, yahoofinance, weather, etc., on my internet attached HDPlasma TV but it is limited to the apps on the tv. Of course, none of them are Netflix or access to the web.

And I was told by Samsung, that my player the Bd-P3600 made in Mar.2009 is TOO OLD to get Netflix. There isn't an upgrade/program/nothing! to allow it to get Netflix. I find this impossible to believe. What do you say? How do old players and tvs get Netflix?

Posted Dec 23, 2010 5:49:13 AM

By wade

Excellent review...I love my BD P3600, but I cannot connect to the network...can you provide the instructions to network with my PC. Also, do you have advise on user name and password issue that I have read about on the different blogs.

Posted Dec 22, 2010 3:32:58 PM

By Warren

Please send me the info on how to connect my blu ray to my computer. Thanks.

Posted Nov 27, 2010 8:44:59 PM

By Cristal

I'm having the same connection problems...would you please email me the instructions to make it work? I would greatly appreciate it!

Posted Nov 23, 2010 5:47:06 PM

By Eric

Help! Please send directions for connecting to Vista. The player continues to lock up when trying to connect using both the auto and manual set-up. Thanks!

Posted Nov 20, 2010 10:12:53 PM

By Mike

Could I have these instructions as well? I am able to do a network search, I am connected via ethernet cable. It appears with my computer name, I enter my name and no password, then I get no files found, or no program found.

Posted Nov 5, 2010 3:27:17 PM

By Adam

Hi Dick, I am in the same boat as the rest of the folks who can't get passed the Gateway Ping test when setting up the wireless connection with my Samsung BD-P3600 Blu Ray. If you could send me those instructions that everyone else keeps referencing I would really appreciate it.

Thanks for your help!

Posted Oct 29, 2010 9:04:45 PM

By Greg Ward

Dick De Jong I would love a copy of those instructions you got for my BD-P3600. Like most people I see here wireless connection is being a pain.

Posted Oct 3, 2010 12:52:22 PM

By Koko

I cannot get this to connect to my wifi even after setting the password key for WPAPSK fifteen or twenty times. Anyone that can help please do so. I'm ready to pull out my hair!

Thanks! If needed I'll send my email address.

Posted Sep 26, 2010 3:17:24 PM

By Stuart L

Glad to see I'm not alone. I get to "Internet Service Test" - fails. Please pass on the info

Posted Sep 25, 2010 11:49:05 PM

By Ian

Dick, same problems connecting my Linksys as the rest of the board. Could you send me the connection info it would be much appreciated

Posted Sep 17, 2010 5:17:59 PM

By Jesse Lowe

I can't get past the ping test. Can you please email instructions. Thank you!

Posted Sep 15, 2010 11:56:09 AM

By Joe Davis

This is a great article and like many of the above folks I am unable to connect my wifi Access Point to the Samsung Blue Ray player. I would appreciate if you could mail me the instructions which you received on how to connect the blue ray using the wifi. My email address is jomydavis@gmail.com

Thanks and kind regards Joe

Posted Sep 14, 2010 10:48:31 AM

By Butch Freeman

Dear Dick D I just read your article on the BD P3600 which I also Have and as others have noted my access point is list but I cannot get the 3600 to connect with it. Any help you may have would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advanece Butch Freeman

Posted Sep 11, 2010 2:22:44 AM

By Antwan

I'm having problems getting my Samsung BluRay to connect to my router. It shows my router but when i try to access it, it times out. Can u please send instructions. antwantweezy@aol.com

Posted Sep 4, 2010 1:36:36 AM

By Glenn

Hi - yep another one that needs assistance for the C6900 gateway ping problem, could you please also email me the fix ay thebmans@orcon.net.nz?

Posted Aug 27, 2010 12:43:26 AM

By Ron

I have the blue-ray player Samsung BD-P3600. The connection between the player and PC via Wi-Fi works fine and I can share all my files. But there is an „unsolvable“ problem with the cabel connection between the player and PC. I am sure the setup is OK - IP address, gateway, DNS but when I try to test the connection then the test crashes in "gateway ping". I´ve already tried to change the cable, to turn off the firewall on PC and on the router but without success. I use Zyxel P 660HW-T3. I read many forums where people have the same problem but anybody didn´t give the right answer. Thank you very much for the possibly helpful advice. Ron

Posted Aug 24, 2010 3:27:41 PM

By Doug Graham

I am trying to connect my Samsung Bluray to an ATT 2mail router and it claim it cannot get the internet connection although it connects to the wireless network. It will not ping stopping, I suppose, at the gateway router. Please send me info how to get this machine connected online. Thanks Doug

Posted Aug 24, 2010 11:19:36 AM

By Kaitlyn

Hi! I am trying to connect this blu-ray to my wireless... would you be able to send me the instructions as well? My email is kbridle19@hotmail.com

Thank you so much!

Posted Aug 8, 2010 7:56:40 AM

By Leo

Can you please send me the info on how to connect my ht-C5500 to my PC internet sharing connection. thanks!

Posted Jul 31, 2010 4:14:05 PM

By Kristen

I have the BD-C6900 and also cannot get past the Gateway Ping test. Can you send me any info you have to get past this issue? I'm so frustrated!!!

Thanks so much!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2010 3:05:52 PM

By Wayne Larson

I have a BD-3600 and have the same "Your Network Cannot Operate Properly" error message when trying to perform the Gateway Ping.

Thanks for your help

Posted Jul 2, 2010 7:25:16 PM

By tom

I have a bd-p3600 and like so many others, I also can't get past the ping test, either wired or wireless. Can I get those manufacturer notes from you also? I have tried everything!

Thanks!!

Tom

Posted Jun 25, 2010 9:23:43 AM

By Jerome

I'm going to finally tackle making a connection with my P1600 to wireless. can you let me know any tips or tricks? Also any other cool features you have found.

Thanks

Posted Jun 21, 2010 3:29:53 PM

By Nilly

Like everyone else, I am also having problems with this blu-ray. I have reseted it and all i need now is the access point. As I want to select an access point it says that it can't find it. What can I do to find it? Please help me!!!! I have been frustrated for more than 5 days! Please help!

Posted Jun 15, 2010 6:19:19 PM

By Kelly Monthei

I am trying to connect my dbp3600 it see's the linksys wrt54gs but it won't connect?

Posted Jun 8, 2010 4:29:40 PM

By abrinton

It is incredible that Samsung has not been able to resolve this problem that is affecting so many owners. I have many Samsung products and have been greatly satisfied with almost all of them. But I'm not buying any Samsung product in the future unless this issue is resolved. It worked with the original firmware, so they should be able to solve the problem easily with an upgrade.

Posted Jun 6, 2010 6:58:17 AM

By Debbie

Please send me the information for getting the gateway to ping for the bdc6500. Thanks!

Posted Jun 2, 2010 8:33:22 PM

By Peter

Hi Dick how are you i was wondering if you could send me the info you have on how to connect the Samsung Blue ray play up to my wireless network I am running into the same gateway ping problem as every one else. I would like to thank you in advance. My email address is path92@msn.com

Thank You Peter pullicino

Posted May 19, 2010 7:39:56 PM

By aldo

Hello there, i have just purchased the bd-p1600 and i am trying to get netflix to my tv and i can not get past the access point. could you help me? i have wireless in my house but when i try to do the wireless connection it gives me a caution sign that it can not find the access point thanks aldo

Posted May 8, 2010 12:20:52 PM

By dillon324

Didn't find your email. can someone please send me the documents? i have spent hours on the phone with Samsung and no one seems to be able to help. Their customer service is frustrating.

Posted May 8, 2010 9:53:10 AM

By fred stith

Can you help me get my samsung blue ray player to connect to my wireless network? It "sees" the network but will not connect. I think I have tried everything. Help!!! Fred

Posted May 6, 2010 4:45:27 AM

By Debbie

Please also send me the documents. Unfortunately, I join the group who cannot get passed the gateway ping :( It's been 3 days, and now I'm frustrated! I purchased the C6500, which was supposed to be almost plug and play - choose the network and you're done - per Best Buy, but it isn't playing very nicely! I'm sure there are some helpful guides in your notes, even if it's for a different model. Thanks! Debbie

Posted May 3, 2010 7:30:02 AM

By Nancy

I have been trying to connect my Samsung BD-P3600 Blue Ray to the wireless with no success. I even went out and purchasede the N Router to be sure I had the best connection. Please help.

Posted May 1, 2010 11:44:50 AM

By Laura

I also am frustrated with trying to connect to the wireless network. error = X Gateway Ping Your network cannot operate properly

Posted Apr 25, 2010 4:49:12 PM

By Betty Harral

We're trying to connect our BD P1600 to our wireless router using the Samsung wireless lan adapter so we can get Netflix. We can't get the Gateway ping yet. Tried putting all zeros, all ones, and another number we got from our internet provider. Nothing seems to work. Could you give us a clue? Thanks.

Posted Apr 18, 2010 1:07:12 PM

By Ken

Could you please email me the PC connection shared files fix from samsung? I am on a Linksys router. Thanks in advance.

Posted Apr 18, 2010 6:04:53 AM

By Joe

I am trying to hook my BD3600 on a network using XP. At the point that it finds the shared pc. When I try to access the shared movie folder, I receive a message 'no program found'. Can you help?

Posted Apr 16, 2010 9:47:19 AM

By Frank Woodruff

Your instructions on how to link the BD p1600 to my PC's on the LAN would be welcome. On my Bd I can get the U TUBE videos ok so the LAN connection to the internet is OK.

Posted Apr 13, 2010 6:48:15 PM

By Angela

I recently purchased Samsung home theater system, and am trying to connect to the internet (wireless network)...No luck. Would you please share your info on connecting Samsung Blu-ray to my wireless network so that I can watch Netflix movies on my TV. Thanks for your help!

Posted Apr 11, 2010 10:20:57 AM

By Bandog

great info. I tried connecting my BD-P3600 to my windows 7 PC -- no luck so far. tried it manual and auto. can you send me the document to help setup the file sharing with PC for windows 7 ? thanks a bunch !!

Posted Apr 11, 2010 8:50:02 AM

By Durphy D.

I'm trying to sort out how to view or send the blu-ray/DVD's signal from the Samsung BACK to my computer. Normally I don't watch movies buut on HD/TV which i've configged with no problem (wirless or NIC) but in some cases I would like to see Blu-Ray on ANY of the computer(s) in my network (quite a few) with an array of monitors so I don't have to deal with CODEC's for DVD or buy a Blu-Ray player just to play back on my computer - can Samsung be configured to SEND signal back to PC's?

Posted Apr 7, 2010 3:51:51 PM

By Scott

Please send me the directions. Thanks

Posted Apr 6, 2010 1:36:30 PM

By Barry

I've just spent 6 hours trying to connect my BD P4600 to the computer. Cable connections all round. I have Vista and, when I enter ipconfig at the command prompt, my ip address is v.6 and garbled - (not the 192. etc). Nor do I get a gateway address (blank).

Help!

Posted Apr 5, 2010 6:11:12 PM

By rob

hi, i have also just purchased the BD P4600 also and i am having the same difficulties as everyone else. Can you send me info accessing share folders on our wireless network. Also if you have any info on how to create a shared folder and how to link my computer with the BD (I use a wireless router. thanks!

Thanks Rob

Posted Apr 2, 2010 12:14:04 PM

By Janine Turnbull

Hi Dick - thx for the great review. We are setting up our 3600 and it works great, but can't get access to YouTube (we are in Canada - no Netflix/Pandora options). We did a connectivity test and it worked (all components), a firmware update appeared last night when we finally made a connection, so that meant we must have done something right! Today we went back in and had to go through complete set up/password etc. for wireless network info, I assume due to the update last night. I hope we won't have to do that everytime an update appears - had to guess and try at all Point of Access to see where it would take the password. Now for YouTube, how do you get it to talk to your computer? We have a MAC, does it have to be set to something specific to interact? Thanks in advance.. ..

Posted Mar 30, 2010 11:52:53 PM

By Mike

My Samsung Blu-Ray is having problems passing the Gateway Ping test. Could you email me the instructions you received? Thanks.

Posted Mar 20, 2010 1:49:25 PM

By Joe

Could you please send me the instructions to have the BD-P3600 access files on my computer. I can connect to my wireless and see my PC..but files are empty and says "incorrect password" Using linksys router.

Posted Mar 17, 2010 1:56:54 AM

By Ken in Honolulu

Afraid I've got to ask for your PC streaming instructions also (with thanks). I'm running a wired connection to the network, with wireless 3 PCs, one each running XP, Vista and Win 7. Usually the Win 7 box shows up on automatic, occasionally one of the others. Only the XP box ever shows the shared files, though the Vista machine will show the folders - just not the contents, and firewall off/on has no impact in PC access!

I tried an external USB drive, which was fine for pictures and AVIs, but NO music files showed up in the album folders.

All sharing and permissions are apparently right. This is more than frustrating. BUT - Pandora and Netflix work great...

Thanks in advance,

Ken

Posted Mar 14, 2010 3:09:40 PM

By Buck

Hi,Dick De Jong Can I please get those instruction for for the file sharing?Thanks

Posted Mar 12, 2010 11:24:50 AM

By shyam

hi i am trying to access my computer through samsung blue-ray but i cant access can u please give me detail i am using windows vista ultimate

Posted Mar 10, 2010 10:17:28 PM

By Dick De Jong

Loveit, you actually can access photos from your computer through the BD-P3600. They have to be in a specific folder and the setup on the player is a bit convoluted, but it can be done.

Again, anyone who is having problems can email me and I will send the documents that I received from Samsung tech support. I probably have responded to over 100 separate requests.

Posted Mar 10, 2010 9:38:16 PM

By Loveit

I have no problems at all with wireless or wired network connections. Just briefly looking through the questions most is just due to ignorance, not understanding how things work. For example, you cannot access files on your network. Photos etc. need to be on a USB Stick. I am a computer tech so had no problems with the network.

Netflix works great, Pandora I love, just have yet to connect it to my sound system, was just excited to try out the feature. Pandora is free, love it, Netflix, 2 week free trial, still have to check out blockbusters streaming selections.

So far, I love what I have and happy I have it.

Posted Mar 8, 2010 2:13:51 PM

By Arnaud Didierlaurent

I am trying to set up my BD3600 with my PC and I always have the same message "cannot find shared PC". I also cannot find any information on how to set up shared folders. (which folders to set, etc.) Any help is much appreciated. Thank you !

Posted Feb 26, 2010 6:21:55 PM

By Rob L

I'm having the same problem that many others are having. The BD-1590P player and the wireless adapter work fine for some time and then I also get the "network is initializing" problem. I have to unplug the wireless adapter and then reconnect to my home network which usually takes mulitple attempts to be successful. It is getting extremeley frustrating. I see other people are having the same problem but I don't see anyone posting a response - any ideas out there??? FYI - when I try to reconnect my router is confirming that a connection was made but the Blu-Ray is saying that the connection failed. I have to keep re-trying until it works...it's driving me crazy.

Posted Feb 25, 2010 11:18:39 AM

By qpp

I was able to connect to my pc using manual mode only...

Posted Feb 22, 2010 8:05:57 AM

By jerry hammer

could you tell me how you access your computer with the bd-p3600? or what I need to do. thanks

Posted Feb 21, 2010 4:50:56 PM

By Mark

I originally got 1600 but after reading your review decided to switch to 3600, but unfortunately I am having problems connecting it to my home network via ethernet. I also do not have neither Pandora nor Netflix when I turn it on but only YouTube. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Posted Feb 20, 2010 9:16:22 PM

By Steve

I'd like those instructions too.

Steve

Posted Feb 9, 2010 12:22:08 PM

By KEN

i BOUGHT A 3600 PLAYER AND AM TRYING TO CONNECT TO MY WIRELESS ROUTER WHICH IS A LINKSYS AND WORKS WELL WITH LAPTOPS.when i try and put in the wireless datait says it cannot find accesspoint. help to cnnect would be really appreciated my email is obo_97@yahoo.com

Posted Feb 8, 2010 7:24:41 PM

By Gary

Great review!

I'm having the same problems as everyone else though, YouTube works and I can hook up to the computer but the shared folder shows as empty.

Please send me a copy of the fix or trick!

Posted Feb 7, 2010 4:15:17 AM

By Tiszone

Having the same problem as most after doing the network test wont get past the gateway ping message ,can't see desktop or laptop windows xp excellent player however.Thanks for your assistance.

Posted Feb 5, 2010 7:21:47 PM

By Alan

I'm having the same problems as most everyone else trying to connect to my pc. I have a wireless network and the blu-ray will pick up the laptop but not the home PC. Try to connect through the laptop but says password is incorrect. Please help! Thanks!

Posted Feb 1, 2010 6:56:27 AM

By mike b

having same issue as others...can connect to home network but having trouble viewing shared folders/files. pls send info you mentioned on how to correct problem.

Posted Jan 25, 2010 1:59:25 PM

By Gordon Andrew

I wish I had known about the 7.1 out put. Any way, I need help with wireless set using d-link and the BD-P1600. Samsung rep said only samsung wireless dongle will work

Posted Jan 24, 2010 3:43:31 PM

By Conor

Please send me the information on how to connect my samsung BD3600 to my home network. I have a Mac.

Posted Jan 24, 2010 12:18:41 PM

By nick

any suggestions for getting player to play .avi video files? thanks nick

Posted Jan 23, 2010 9:14:30 PM

By tonyj

great article!

Please send me the information on how to connect my samsung BD3600 to my home network

Posted Jan 23, 2010 6:59:49 PM

By nick

I have 3600 blu-ray. Pandora and Youtube connection okay. It also connects to my network and recognizes (correct computer name displayed on screen) but when i try to access photo, videos for display is says "No progam is found". I turned off firewall and have latest firmware. Please advise as to how I can display my network folders' pictures and videos. Thanks in advance. NF

Posted Jan 23, 2010 2:11:36 PM

By alex vescan

My BD-P3600 is "moody". Sometimes it recognizes/finds the PC and sometimes it comes back with the message "No PC has been found". At these (frustrating) times, if I do for example a "You Tube" watching attempt, it will stay in "network initializing" for ever (probably this is why it can not see the PC). Can you help me, please? Thanks a lot.

Posted Jan 22, 2010 8:27:09 PM

By Tricky

Can ANYONE in plain & proper english with good spelling and step by step instructions explain how to set up the PC streaming function on the BD-P3600 when username and password is invalid. THANKYOU 1,000,000 times ;)

Posted Jan 19, 2010 7:48:44 PM

By R. Brown

I read your article and I have the P-3600. Will you please sent me the information that you have on installing the Samsung -P-3600. Thanks in Advance

Posted Jan 19, 2010 11:39:31 AM

By Robin Gibb

Please send me the information on how to connect my samsung BD3600 to my home network

Posted Jan 19, 2010 11:11:59 AM

By Stephen

Dick De Jong, this is a great review. I bought the bd-p4600 and I am having the same problem as most here. I can view Pandora, Netflix etc ... but I can not seem to get a shared file seen. Streaming PC is impossible it seems. I called Samsung support and they will "get back to me by the end of the day once researched". Could you please send me your resolution? I'm running windows 7. I can see 1 computer on the network but no shared folder and the other computer isn't even seen. Thank you.

Posted Jan 18, 2010 7:51:49 AM

By Robert

I am having the same problem as others. I am able to access netflix etc. but am unable to access my pc even though it is recognized. The return message is that there is no shared folder. I have checked that sharing is enabled, turned off the fire wall, etc. If there is a fix for this, please help.

Posted Jan 17, 2010 2:32:05 PM

By Cathy

We have also bought a 4600 and cannot get the wireless connected. Have p;ayed with it for 2 weeks now and very frustrated. Have a new broadband router and connect to 3 computers, Wii, 2 ipods and a PSP wirelessly with no issue. What is different about the 4600? Suggestions please!!

Posted Jan 16, 2010 2:07:15 PM

By dan lane

Please send me the information on how to connect my samsung P3600 to my home network

Jon

Posted Jan 10, 2010 10:09:54 AM

By Dennis

I am having similar trouble. I have the BDP1600, and the first two weeks I connected fine and could stream movies from Netflix. Now all I get is "Network Initializing" before it times out. I can't even click on the netowrk settings, I immediately get a "Network Initializing!" pop-up. Please help, this is frustrating. Nothing at all changed on my computer between the last day it worked and the next day when it stopped working.

Posted Jan 9, 2010 9:43:21 PM

By Jeff Lloyd

I'm having some of the same problems as a few of the folks above. When I click on Access Point, it says "Cannot Find Access Point." -- What am I supposed to do? This is getting really frustrating?

Posted Jan 7, 2010 5:02:22 PM

By braar02

I connected my BD-P3600 to my home WiFi network and it works just fine. But, after turning my player on after its been off, I cannot be connected to my network. If I want to go on Netflix for instance, I get a message that says "network intializing" and it just sits there or I have to turn it off. Can you please advise how to resolve this problem.

Posted Jan 5, 2010 1:15:21 PM

By Dave Loiselle

I am hearing all these problems with network access on the BD-P3600 but was amazes at how easily it worked. The one thing that I found strange was that in the 'shared folder' access setup the dialog asked for a user name that was in fact the computer name not a login name. I entered the computer name and used my admin password and it worked perfectly. Most people use their computer while logged in with an admin account which can be dangerous if someone or a trojan gains control of your computer. I use a non-admin account unless I am administering my computer. Other than the fact that my first BD-P3600 would turn itself off my current machine works very well with a minor exception that I just discovered. When I access the NetFlix menu and after I get through the multiple pages of disclaimers the component output of the BD player loses video sync. I can see the NetFlix page fine on the composite output but the component output appears to have no sync on it. Inserting a DVD or BD or re-powering returns the component output to normal. My setup is a bit strange so most people probably wouldn't find this problem. I am feeding a standard definition TV with the player display set to 480i. The Samsung tech says they have a new firmware update coming in a couple weeks. Until then, no NetFlix.

Posted Jan 5, 2010 8:57:10 AM

By Reece

I have tried to connect my BD3600 to my Pc and cannot get it to find shared Pc. I have no problem connecting to Netfix at all or pandora. I check the wireless connection and it is all good. I am using Vista for my Operating system. I would appreciate your response. I have a GT-701 actiontec DSL router. Thanks

Posted Dec 29, 2009 2:21:58 PM

By Kenneth

I also just bought the 8200 sound bar, and having difficulties getting the sound bar connected to my pc, and se files etc.

Please let me know how I can connect the two units?

Regards Kenneth

Posted Dec 29, 2009 7:48:27 AM

By Dan

Same comments as everyone else. Hung up on the gateway ping. Any solution?

Posted Dec 26, 2009 10:02:38 PM

By Brad

We have tried to set up our BD3600, but to no success. We get "cannot find shared PC". We also cannot find any information on how to set up shared folders. (which folders to set, etc.) Any help is much appreciated.

Posted Dec 26, 2009 12:47:49 AM

By Forrist Richardson

Received the BD-P3600 as a present. I seem to be having the same problem setting up the Network feature and connecting to the internet. Please share.

Posted Dec 24, 2009 7:29:34 AM

By andres

I have the same problem like a majority I try to get internet connection , I have a wireless system and all my computers get signal well but i can not get at the blue ray probably i need to set up the system i plug the device that come with the blue ray but that didn't work can you explain to me how is the set up to work.. one of the reason I bought this samsung 3600 is for use pandora and utube i will appreciated you help

Posted Dec 22, 2009 11:20:48 AM

By Christian Lanthier

As many of people who wrote here, I cannot link the BD-P3600 to my shared folders on my laptop; it connected to internet (did a firmware update) and recognise the laptop. Can you please give me details for making it works. I have Vista 64 Home Premium.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Posted Dec 17, 2009 8:47:30 AM

By BernLagan

Hi ,

I have just set up our new BD-P4600. Much to my own surprise I got it working through the wireless system. It works fine on Netflix. Also with YouTube. But the problem ,. having logged onto YouTube once with my password etc, it will no longert recognise my YouTube password. Si can no longer long to YouTube. Any suggestions other than closing down my YouTube acct and starting a new one?

Cheers

Bern

Posted Dec 16, 2009 8:38:21 AM

By Tareq Fares

I'm sure someone else is having similar problems. I connected my BD-P1600 to my home WiFi network and it works just fine. But, after turning my player on after its been off, I cannot be connected to my network. If I want to go on Youtube for instance, I get a message that says "network intializing" and after that I would have to reconnect and reenter my password (which takes a while since for some reason it cannot recognize my password the first few times).

Someone PLEASE help me, no one seems to know what to do.... Help is greatly appreciated.

Posted Dec 15, 2009 5:07:21 PM

By Brian L

I am having a similar issue to Adam M (posted 12/6). I have successfully connected to my wireless router (Linksys dual-N WRT610N) twice. However, once I started streaming Pandora, the connection dropped after a song or two. Now all I can get is the "Network Initializing" message when I try to re-establish a connection. I have rebooted everything several times, but still get the same message. Please help.

Posted Dec 13, 2009 1:17:24 PM

By Bill

Please send me the information you have on setting up the internet for the Samsung BD P3600. I find it very tricky :)

Posted Dec 12, 2009 4:08:27 PM

By Phil

I've tried several times to connect my new Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player to my internet. No luck. I spoke to Tech support from Samsung, but still no luck. Would you please share your info on connecting the BD-P3600 Samsung Blu-ray to my netwark so I can watch Netflix movies on our TV. Thank you. Phil Kinsey

Posted Dec 7, 2009 7:04:02 PM

By Skyler

Could someone PLEASE tell me how to enable the foul language filter. I have looked everywhere and i cant find out how to do this. please help me.

Posted Dec 7, 2009 3:46:37 PM

By scott

Please help! I have tried every possible thing I can think of to connect to my linksys router with no luck! Woud you please send me special instrucitons?

Posted Dec 6, 2009 7:38:48 PM

By Adam M

I have the BD P3600. I originally upgraded my LINKSYS WRT54g router to Belkin's Ultrarange N+ router because Belkin was touting its 2600 feet range. I hooked up to the wireless network easily. Everything was fine for about ONE week and I even watched a streaming Netflix movie. This connection was good for ONE week only. After that, the "Network Initializing" message kept showing up everytime I tried to hook up with my Samsung Blu-ray. Two of my laptops also could not connect wirelessly to the Internet. After several failed attempts at remedying, I returned the Belkin router and reused my Linksys WRT54g router. My laptops are both wirelessly functional now. I then reset the Blu-ray to factory settings by pressing the SKIP button for more than 5 seconds on the panel. However, my Samsung Blu-ray keeps saying "cannot find a shared PC". My Blu-ray is on the second floor but so is my laptop that wireless connects with "good signal" message. Please help me out.

Posted Dec 5, 2009 7:08:30 PM

By Doug

Yo - nice review. Thanks for writing it up. I bought the 3600 and having the same difficulties as everyone else trying to connect it to my PC. Can you send me info accessing shared folders on our wired network. I'm running xp on the PC and the Bluray player see the PC but I get "incorrect username or password" everytime I try to access the PC. Thanks.....

Posted Nov 22, 2009 1:34:26 PM

By Kurt

I am having the same problems accessing the PC files. I have entered the user name and password correctly multiple times and still get the same incorrect username or password dialog box. This is incredibly frustrating. If you could email the help you got from the Samsung rep I would greatly appreciate it.

Posted Nov 21, 2009 9:13:40 PM

By Ken

Bought samsung BD p4600 and everything was easy to setup except for the pc streaming. I can get it to reconginize one of my networked comuters but when I try to view photo I get a no program found error. I tried al the stuff in the manuals and stil no luck. In your Samsung BD-P3600 Review Blu-ray Player you mentioned you would share the instructions from the Samsung rep to get pc streaing to work. Can you send them to me. As I understand things it the ame as the BD p3600.

Thanks Ken

Posted Nov 17, 2009 1:13:43 PM

By Ian Pitt

I have just bought a BD-P1600 and cannot set up the wireless network. I can't even get past the 'wireless network Access Pints' it just says not selected and when i press enter an warning sign comes up and says cannot find access point.

Please help as its bugging the hell out of me :(

Thanks in advance

Ian

Posted Nov 3, 2009 7:30:29 PM

By Galaad

Hi Bernie and to all.

To all who have problems visualizing media in his bluray player trough home network: If in your computer you are administrator, dont put password or otherwise in your bd player put the password that you have. Other things to remember: 1.-in your net security options let the bd player free of restrictions or let the "new devices" free. 2.- Put the media that you want in "shared" files. 3.- In the bd player, once you have search the network(i recomend automatic) choose the right "user" if are more than one. I hope this be useful,and dont have problems with this anymore.

Greetings from Mexico. G.

Posted Nov 1, 2009 7:27:47 AM

By Bernie Bricker

Hello,

I have found my computer, I type in the computer name as it shows , but then it asks me for a password. I put in all the passwords I know and also left it blank, with no luck. Do I need to set up a password on my desktop (win7)? My router is hardwired from BR to lynksys router. Thanks.

Posted Oct 31, 2009 10:28:22 AM

By Jim Butler

Dick

Could you please post or send me the instructions on how to set up the wireless connections D-Link DIR D55. I have been unable to get past the gateway ping on the network test and I do have this function enabled on the router.

Posted Oct 26, 2009 4:50:51 PM

By Surfotog

Same problems as others. Would appreciate any detailed instructions. 3600 with iMac and Airport express router. Thanks

Posted Oct 26, 2009 8:46:45 AM

By Serg

hi, i have also just purchased the BD P3600 also and i am having the same difficulties as everyone else. Can you send me info accessing share folders on our wireless network. Also if you have any info on how to create a shared folder and how to link my computer with the BD (I use a wireless router. thanks!

Posted Oct 22, 2009 11:14:27 PM

By Sara Corripio

Hi, I just bought this dvd player, and i tried to connect it wirelessly to the internet. during the network testing, all went well except the gateway ping. i want to know what this is? what is gateway? Thanks

Posted Oct 11, 2009 8:07:49 AM

By Marianne Alejandro

We purchased the 3600 along with the UN40B6000 for our new home. We put up the TV and are now trying to connect the blu-ray for Netflix and can't seem to get it work properly. I configured the TV as I was told to do by the Samsung Rep, it recognized the wireless router (our Network) but when we go to connect to Netflix it keeps asking us if our ethernet cord is correctly put in the router. We worked on this for hours yesterday and I called Samsung 3 times with no resolution to the problem. I have a Linksys WRT54G v1 router and it works fine with all of my other equipment. Help!

Posted Oct 8, 2009 1:58:30 PM

By New Blue Ray BD P3600

hi, i have just purchased the BD P3600 also and i am having the same difficulties as everyone else. We also need help getting it to share folders on our wireless network. Please send info: 1) how to create a shared folder 2) how to link my computer with the BD (I use a wireless router). I tried different things but I still receive the meassages "no shared file found" or " incorrect user or password".

Please can you send me the info needed.

Thank you very much.

Posted Oct 7, 2009 9:54:54 AM

By Terry Kieley

Please guide me... I am ready to purchase the 3600 but have two questions.. 1) I intend to use this product as a wireless unit for Pandora and Netflix, is this a problem with comcast and my D-link router? 2) What is the 1 gigabyte memory for on the unit?

Thanks, tekieley

Posted Sep 22, 2009 3:32:02 PM

By Joe Staffa

I just got the 3600 based on your review. you are right, blu ray is amazing. I just can't get the wireless to work. I get to the gateway ping test and it stops. Any ideas?

Posted Sep 20, 2009 5:07:07 PM

By gemma

hi, i have just purchased the BD P3600 also and i am having the same difficulties as 'john' ie...."We also need help getting it to share folders on our wireless network. Please send info: 1) how to create a shared folder 2) how to link my computer with the BD (I use a wireless router). I tried different things but I still receive the meassages "no shared file found" or " incorrect user or password".

Please can you send me the info needed.

Thank you very much.

Posted Sep 11, 2009 11:31:30 PM

By Jerry

New firmware for the 3600 (rev. 2.0.2) now supports MKV files and YouTube streaming. I found PC Streaming relatively easy to set up but performance is pretty bad - intermittent lagging for SD files but unwatchable stuttering for HD. I'd be interested in any suggestions for how to fix this. Right now my only option for AVI and MKV files is to copy the files onto a portable USB drive. Still, the ability to do even that is unique among blu-ray players.

Posted Sep 10, 2009 3:10:42 AM

By Eslite

I encountered the same connection problem with netflix and searching for my computer. Can you please kindly email to me or post it here? Thanks a lot!

Posted Sep 9, 2009 9:36:41 PM

By john o

I too would like the instructions for accessing my home pc's media content thru my wireless-N network. D-Link DIR 655 router

Posted Sep 6, 2009 5:36:06 PM

By John

We just bought the 8200 Sound Bar with the Blue Ray Disc. We also need helpl getting it to share folders on our wireless network. Please send info: 1) how to create a shared folder 2) how to link my computer with the BD (I use a wireless router). I tried different things but I still receive the meassages "no shared file found" or " incorrect user or password".

Posted Aug 25, 2009 2:07:08 PM

By Dick De Jong

Marivaldo,

I am sending you that information directly to you. If other readers are interested I will post it to you. Just let me know.

Posted Aug 24, 2009 8:50:47 PM

By Marivaldo Filho

Dick DeJong, Congratulations for this excellent review. I bought the BD P3600 Samsung Blue Ray player and I had no problems with Netflix and Pandora connections but I'd really appreciate to receive (see my e-mail above) your tips about: 1) how to create a shared folder 2) how to link my computer with the BD P3600 (I use a wireless router). I tried different things but I still receive the meassages "no shared file found" or " incorrect user or password".

Thanks in advance

Post a comment

Commenting on this article is easy and does not require any registration. Your email address is necessary for you to activate your comment once it has been submitted. It will not be shown to other site viewers. HDTV Solutions reserves the right to remove any comment at any time for any reason. Foul language is not permitted, nor are personal attacks. All comments should remain on topic.

Name:

Email Address:(used only to confirm your comment)

Your Comment:

(Enter the numbers exactly as they appear to the left)

Free NewsAlert

DVDO
Click for more info!