Home  •  Print this Page  •  

HDTV Reviews

HDTV reviews of LCD, Plasma, LED, and OLED technology digital HDTVs for home theater, multimedia, data, and video applications.
Compare up to 10 Models Hide Details
Sort by
VIZIO M602I-B3
HDTV Review
Richard De Jong — Jul 10, 2014
Our Review
 Specs    $1,149  
After considering the combination of features, price, screen size and remarkable picture quality, the VIZIO M602i-B3 earns our Highly Recommended recognition.
Samsung UN55H8000AFXZA
3D HDTV Review
Richard De Jong — Jun 13, 2014
Our Review
 Specs    $1,998  
Let me just say that as I was sampling a few of my favorite Blu-rays on this curved Samsung UN55H8000 HDTV, I felt like I was seeing them for the first time. The color palette seemed fuller without a hint of artificiality. Of course, this Smart TV is loaded with apps and Internet content providers. And you can boss the TV around with voice commands.
Toshiba 50L7300U
HDTV Review
Richard De Jong — Feb 19, 2014
Our Review
 Specs    $998  
The Toshiba 50L7300U Cloud TV combines very good video performance with Smart TV connectivity. It doesn't supply all the gee-whiz features like voice and motion control. And it isn't overflowing with pages and pages of apps. This 50-inch LED TV finds a comfortable niche just below those expensive high-end TVs.
Samsung PN60F8500AF
3D HDTV Review
Richard De Jong — Dec 16, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $3,799  
Let's cut to the chase. If you are shopping for the most fully featured HDTV with the highest picture quality, then the Samsung F8500 series of plasmas, should be at the top of your list. Indeed, it earns our Highly Recommended award.
Sony XBR-55X850A
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Dec 4, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,849  
The quantum dot TRILUMINOS display of the 55-inch Sony XBR-55X850A delivers a luscious full color Ultra HD image. This 4K TV does an excellent job of upscaling HD resolution content. When paired with the FMP-X1, Sony's 4K Ultra HD Media Player, the Sony 4K ecosystem is completed.
Samsung UN55F8000BF
3D HDTV Review
Richard De Jong — Oct 20, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,299  
As the king of Samsung's 1080p LED HDTVs, the F8000 series flourishes a crown encrusted with resplendent jewels like a quad core processor, voice and motion controls, and a Smart Hub overflowing with apps, social media, and smart recommendations. But the most eye-catching, show-stopping feature of the F8000 TVs remains their top notch video performance.
Sony XBR-65X900A
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Sep 17, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $2,546  
The Sony XBR-65X900A is a big, beautiful TV. There were times when I was watching this 65-inch screen that I simply caught myself marveling at the quality of the picture.
VIZIO M551D-A2R
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Aug 20, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,000  
With the M551D-A2R, VIZIO has created an appealing 55-inch TV that delivers features, usability and performance at a competitive and tempting price. If you are a demanding videophile, this VIZIO's better-than-average picture quality may not meet your exacting standards. But for the rest of us, the 55-inch M551D-A2R's bang for the buck is compelling.
LG 55LA8600
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Aug 10, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $2,400  
A hands-on video review of the LG 55LA8600 that is a companion piece to the written review.
LG 55LA8600
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jul 17, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $2,400  
The LA8600 series sits at the top of the 2013 line of LG's 1080p LED HDTVs and this Smart TV earns its stripes with apps and streaming content providers galore. The LED edge-lit HDTV is also overflowing with specialty features like voice recognition and motion control and it supplies a built-in Wi-Fi adapter as well as a TV camera.
Sony KDL-55W900A
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jun 12, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,716  
Sony's new top of the line HDTV, the 55-inch KDL-55W900A, features the appetizingly named TRILUMINOS display technology, which creates a lumi-liciously rich colorful picture.
Sony KDL-55W900A
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — May 30, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,716  
Sony's new top of the line HDTV, the 55-inch KDL-55W900A, features the appetizingly named TRILUMINOS display technology, which creates a lumi-liciously rich colorful picture.
Sony KDL-40R450A
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Mar 31, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $480  
A hands-on video review of the Sony KDL-40R450 that is a companion piece to the written review. Length - 5:44.
Sony KDL-40R450A
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Mar 26, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $480  
The Sony KDL-40R450 is a bit of a throwback to simpler times when TVs were just TVs. You remember, way back in about 2009, before TVs became "Smart" with connections to the Internet and a store full of apps crowding the screen.
Samsung PN51E6500EF
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Feb 21, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $1,425  
The Samsung PN51E6500 TV has renewed my faith in plasma displays. This 3D Smart TV is feature laden while being a breeze to use. And the picture quality of the plasma is rich, smooth and easy on the eyes.
SunBriteTV SB-4660HD
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jan 5, 2013
Our Review
 Specs    $2,695  
The tearsheet for SunBriteTV's Signature Series 4660HD gets right to the selling point when it describes this 1080p HDTV as a True Outdoor All-Weather LCD Television for permanent outdoor installation.
Samsung PN60E8000GF
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Dec 20, 2012
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $2,199  
The 8000 series is the top of Samsung's line of 2012 plasma HDTVs, which means that every feature in Samsung's arsenal is packed into the PN60E8000 3D Smart TV. Of course, there may be one or two too many features stuffed in to this high-end TV. But you never need to fiddle with many of these features and still enjoy this plasma's luscious picture quality.
LG 84LM9600
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Dec 12, 2012
Our Review
 Specs    $5,976  
The picture quality of the LG 84LM9600 Ultra HD TV is definitely a major step up from the output of a high-end 1080p HDTV. The difference can be startling when playing 4K content. But even when comparing playback of Blu-rays, the LG's upscaling to 4K is noticeably better.
Sony KDL-46HX750
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Nov 26, 2012
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $1,599  
The Sony KDL-46HX750 is a gem of a TV with great picture quality. Would I prefer the incremental video performance boosts of the HX850 or HX950? You betcha! But the accountant in me would be proud of my money saving decision to go with the HX750.
JVC JLC47BC3000
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Sep 22, 2011
Our Review
 Specs    $650  
The JVC BlackCrystal JLC47BC3000 HDTV is a great choice for those who simply want an easy-to-use TV that they can plop down and enjoy their favorite programs without having to fuss with networking or apps or 3D glasses - just like the good ol' days back in 2008.
LG 47LW5600
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jun 30, 2011
Our Review
 Specs    $1,000  
With the LW5600 series, the LG designers have succeeded in offering a wide range of features for the tech savvy crowd while keeping the basic setup and operation of the TV simple enough for the "just the facts, ma'am" generation. And, oh by the way, the edge-lit LED LW5600 produces some of the best 3D Picture Quality (PQ) that I have encountered. Add to that, LG's 3D technology uses the less expensive and less intrusive passive 3D glasses.
Toshiba 55WX800U
3D HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Dec 15, 2010
Our Review
 Specs    $2,199  
The 240Hz LED edge-lit Toshiba 55WX800U's picture quality when displaying 2D images is excellent. And its NetTV menu of Internet streaming partners is top notch. If only its 3D performance was as compelling.
Haier HL40XSL2
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Aug 6, 2010
Our Review
 Specs    $1,131  
The 120Hz, 1080p LED edge-lit Haier HL40XSL2 LCD TV produces a highly satisfactory picture in a slender 1.2" package. It doesn't offer network connectivity and the accompanying Internet content, but it does include a unique DVR-like Time Shift feature through the USB port.
Westinghouse LD-325
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jul 21, 2010
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $450  
The LD-3255 does not have all the bells and whistles to serve as the centerpiece of your home theater, but its performance is good enough to fit into almost any other TV viewing spot in the house. And it's definitely light enough to tote there.
ViewSonic VT2300LED
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — May 21, 2010
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $399  
The LED edge-lit VT2300LED ratchets up the picture quality of ViewSonic's line of LCD TVs. The 23" 1080p HDTV is a great size for a dorm room or bedroom. And to wring even more value out of it, you can use it in your home office as a computer monitor/HDTV.
Toshiba 55UX600U
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — May 3, 2010
Our Review
 Specs    $1,479  
Even though the 120Hz LED edge-lit Toshiba 55UX600 doesn't produce the deep blacks of its direct-lit local dimming cousins, it still delivers a big, bright 55" image that is made for events like Avatar or the World Cup. And its NET TV feature provides Wi-Fi capability and a wide range of Internet content partners.
Bang & Olufsen BeoVision 8-32
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Apr 2, 2008
Our Review
 Specs    MSRP: $3,950  
The design of the BeoVision 8 is a study in counterpoint. Casual with elegant styling, it's a fun little TV with an all-kidding-aside home theater-like image and big sound.
Bang & Olufsen BeoVision 7-40
HDTV Review
Dick De Jong — Jun 13, 2007
2007 Highly Rated
 Specs    MSRP: $13,250  
After reviewing a parade of look-alike HDTVs, we ached to find a stylish departure from the norm. The BeoVision 7-40 soothes that pain with a unmatched combination of design and performance.
 
Free NewsAlert